1938 -- Caldecott Award

Caldecott Award Named for nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, the Caldecott Medal celebrates distinction and distinguished contribution to American picture book illustration. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA) to the artist of an American picture book for children. Dorothy P. Lathrop was the first award recipient for Animals of the Bible (Lippincott, 1937) by Helen Dean Fish.